China imposes sanctions on US, Canadian entities

Beijing announced on March 27 sanctions on US and Canadian individuals and an entity, urging the parties to redress their mistakes and stop political manipulation on Xinjiang-related issues. The Chinese penalties were in response to the two countries’ unilateral sanctions on individuals and entities in the Xinjiang Uygur autonomous region on March 22 based on rumors and disinformation.

According to a statement issued by the Foreign Ministry, the sanctions were placed on three individuals and one entity, namely Chair of the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom Gayle Manchin, Vice-Chair of the USCIRF Tony Perkins, Canadian Member of Parliament Michael Chong, and the Subcommittee on International Human Rights of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development of the House of Commons of Canada. The individuals concerned are prohibited from entering the Chinese mainland and the Hong Kong and Macao special administrative regions, and Chinese citizens and institutions are prohibited from doing business with the individuals and having exchanges with the subcommittee.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *